Fun Things to do on Lake Norman – Wake Surfing! Is it a sport?   Leave a comment

This is my attempt at being funny, but serious at the same time. I love lake norman and I love the water. Enjoy watching my friends in the videos. “KellySurf” actually broke her finger, had a cast on it, and still surfed “one-armed” almost all summer. WOW!

Wake Surfing.

Fun things to do at Lake Norman (or any lake for that matter).

What? Yes, I said “Wake Surfing”. It’s fun, but it is so uncalifornian. It’s not surfing on the waves at the coast, that’s for sure.

Well, easily put, ” Wake Surfing” is Surfing behind a boat – using the wake that the boat makes to ride the wave.

It’s also catching across the nation like wildfire and becoming really popular in the Lake areas. It’s starting to get really popular in on Lake Norman. I am fortunate enough to have met some new friends that have introduced me to it and it is a blast!!

I had a chance to try it a few times this past summer and started to get the hang of it! And now as I am sitting here listening to the weather forecast call for 38 degree temps tonight, I long for the warm summer days that we spent in the “bath-like” Lake Norman waters, surfing!

I have already been prodded by my “year-round “, lake loving friends about getting a wetsuit because I will surely miss out on those “slightly warmer” winter days going out on their ski boat.

I can’t tell you how much fun it is, so I will show you a video of my friends actually wake surfing behind a big boat with a huge wake. (I don’t recommend you try this if you are not a skilled skier/wake-boarder). These folks have been doing it for a very long time. Notice they throw the ropes back.

They tried a “duo wake surf” for the first time and this is what happened:

Oh, and in case you were wondering, yes, I have pictures of me wake surfing! LOL! The 3rd one is Mac and he is doing it without the rope (which is what you are supposed to do). I eventually got to that point at the end of the summer.

slippery wet suit

And yes, I gave in to peer pressure! Got the wetsuit too——–

If you are interested in getting a wake surfing board and tips, I would try talking to the folks at Icy Waves Surf Shop in Cornelius, NC.

Sandy Aichner, GRI, ABR, Broker, REALTOR ~ RE/MAX Executive Realty (704) 746-7513


Lake Norman Real Estate


Call me at: 704.746.7513
for information on purchasing or selling a home in
Mooresville, Cornelius, Huntersville, Troutman, Denver, Sherrill’s Ford, Catawba, Davidson, or Statesville, North Carolina or surrounding towns . Feel free to visit one of my websites: MooresvilleHomeSearch.com, SandyIsYourAgent.com . Or stop by my blogs at:


Active Rain
; or Twitter.


Sandy’s Facebook Profile


LinkedIn Profile


Trulia Profile


Twitter profile


Flickr Photos by Sandy


Search Lake Norman & Charlotte Homes

Meet Sandy
Delicious Bookmarks

Leave a Reply

